Central Arizona College Back
FSC 220 Fire Officer Leadership
Credit Hours:  3
Effective Term: Fall 2015
SUN#: None
AGEC: None  
Credit Breakdown: 3 Lectures
Times for Credit: 1
Grading Option: A/F Only

Description: Supervisory capabilities which include leadership skills and management styles. Also includes stress management, communication and motivational skills, and roles of the company officer. The course addresses ethics, use, and abuse of power at the company officer level, creativity in the fire service environment, and management of the multiple roles of the company officer. This course mirrors the National Fire Academy Leadership I, II, and III courses taught by the Az. State Fire Marshal. This course is required for IFSAC certification as a Fire Officer I.

Prerequisites: FSC202 and students must be employed as a member of public safety.

Corequisites: None

Recommendations: None

Measurable Student Learning Outcomes
1. (Analysis Level) Identify and examine traits demonstrated by successful fire service leaders.
2. (Evaluation Level) Evaluate the effects of motivation on confidence and communication between an officer and his men.
3. (Analysis Level) Apply the Keirsey Temperament Sorter to analyze character and temperament types.
4. (Analysis Level) Identify and compare fire service leadership styles.
5. (Evaluation Level) Interpret the Managerial Grid Theory and apply its principles to fire service management.
6. (Evaluation Level) Define stress and assess the causes of stressful situations.
7. (Application Level) Demonstrate relaxation and stress reduction techniques.
8. (Analysis Level) Identify and relate effective communicators.
9. (Analysis Level) Recognize poor listening habits and develop effective listening skills.
10. (Evaluation Level) Assess motivational needs of differing types of individuals.
11. (Analysis Level) List and illustrate various methods used to motivate individuals.
12. (Synthesis Level) Describe important traits and relate the role of the company officer.
13. (Evaluation Level) Evaluate personnel problems, performance factors and standards.
Internal/External Standards Accreditation
1. National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications (NFPA 1021).
2. Perform the duties of a fire officer at the four levels of progression, which are Fire Officer I, II, III, and IV.
3. NFPA Standard 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications.
4. NFPA Standard 1041, Standard for Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications.
5. State of Arizona Fire Marshal Office, standard for International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) for Fire Officer I.